At a glance

Since it was founded in 1991, the University of Applied Sciences in Neubrandenburg has developed into an academic centre and driving force in teaching, research, and continuing education for the region. Approximately 25 years ago, it started with two courses of study and 164 students.

Currently, approximately 2,100 young people study in 25 faculties offering a total of 33 Bachelor and Master degrees. A practical approach is adopted towards the research and teaching, which takes place at our University of Applied Science.

We work in close cooperation with business and institutions from within our region. Each courses of study includes at least one practical semester or provides several practical work experiences. Research projects help students obtain management and scientific research skills, which they can put to good use in their future professions.

To help our students gain multidisciplinary key competences, we have developed additional opportunities within the context of the StudiumPlus project.

We are adapting existing courses of study to modern scientific, occupation-specific and professional requirements in cooperation with regional, national, and international partners, and are also creating new courses of study as well as new and continuing education opportunities.

The University of Applied Sciences in Neubrandenburg champions the equality of men and women, and, as a family-friendly university, actively supports attempts to balance family and profession, or family and studies by creating family-friendly work and study conditions as well as a social climate that also allows students with families to pursue their studies, work, and research. Located close to the city centre and Lake Tollense, our campus includes modern seminar and laboratory facilities, a library and further service facilities, the canteen, and four halls of residence. Our university welcomes applications from German and international students as well as from our partners!

University Governing Bodies

The University of Applied Sciences is governed by the Rector's Office. This consists of the Rector, who represents the university externally, the two prorectors and the chancellor, who is in charge of university administration.

Rector's Office

Important decisions are made by the Senate, which is elected by the members of the individual university groups.

At the head of the four faculties are the departmental offices. The Professors, students and staff are represented in the departmental Councils.

To coordinate operations between all levels of the university and maintain a constant flow of information, the Rector's Office, heads of departments, Student Union representatives and equal opportunity officers meet on a weekly basis in the Rectorate's Council.